Pasaka (1995-97) for piano and electronics in London and Los Angeles

2012-03-20 London (UK), City University Stephane Ginsburgh (pno.)
2012-03-23 Los Angeles (US), University Park Campus, Alfred Newman Recital Hall, Aron Kallay (pno.)

A review by N.Prufer about the performance of b(ell tree) by JACK quartet in NY

16 oct. 2011, “Sounds of a New Century” Festival, New York (USA)

Columbia / University’s Miller Theatre, JACK quartet

(…) Another gem that I was able to hear on that beautiful Sunday was Vykintas Baltakas’ b[ell tree]. The virtuosic JACK Quartet did a fantastic job realizing the score. It opens very minimalistically, with some dotted rhythms, and then slowly a beautiful counterpoint develops, which reminded me of Shostakovich’s string quartets. And while it started so sparsely and perhaps timidly, we then heard elegant, confident lines weaving through and around each other, blossoming. Surprisingly, the composer’s muse for this beautiful piece was a Swiss cowbell, as per the program. I would love to hear what this composer has to offer next. (…)

Neil Prufer

I Care If You Listen

technical update of “PASAKA” for piano and electronics

busy now with technical update of “PASAKA” for piano and electronics: quadraphonic, replacing some sounds, creating a possibility to perform using Max/Msp or any sequencer, etc.

“Pasaka” is an older piece, being periodically performed since the creation in 1995(-1997). It received several prizes: the Stipendiumpreis of ‘Ferienkurse für neue Musik Darmstadt in 1996 and the Prix de composition “Prix Special XXe Siècle” at the 5eme concours international de piano XXème siecle d’ Orleans in 2002.

First performance of the “updated” version is going to be played by Stephane Ginsburgh on 17 Octobers 2011 at the Kings Place, London.

“Pasaka / ein Märchen” at Impuls Festival 2011, Graz

February 7th, 2011 
Großer Minoritensaal 
Mariahilferplatz 3, 8020 Graz
Pasaka by Benjamin Kobler, Pno.   

Mark Foster performs “Pasaka / ein Märchen” for piano and tape at Impuls Festival 2011, Graz.


composer & conductor