Tag Archives: varga

The Courage of Composers and the Tyranny of Taste Reflections on New Music

A book by Bálint András Varga
All-new interviews with 33 of the world’s leading composers–from Adams and Crumb to Gubaïdulina and Rihm–give unique insights into the creative process.
Bálint András Varga is perhaps the world’s most respected interviewer of living composers. For The Courage of Composers and the Tyranny of Taste: Reflections on New Music, Varga has confronted thirty-three composers with quotations carefully chosen to elicit their thoughts about an issue that is crucial for any serious creative artist: How can one find courage to deal with the sometimes tyrannical expectations of the outside world?
̌Hans Abrahamsen (b. 1952), John Adams (b. 1947), Vykintas Baltakas (b. 1972), George Benjamin (b. 1960), Friedrich Cerha (b. 1926), Unsuk Chin (b. 1961), George Crumb (b. 1929), Chaya Czernowin (b. 1957), Paul-Heinz Dittrich (b. 1930), Pascal Dusapin (b. 1955), Michael Gielen (b. 1927), Sofia Gubaidulina (b. 1931), Georg Friedrich Haas (b. 1953), Giya Kancheli (b. 1935), György Kurtág (b. 1926), Helmut Lachenmann (b. 1935), Olga Neuwirth (b. 1968), Enno Poppe (b. 1969), Wolfgang Rihm (b. 1952), Rebecca Saunders (b. 1967), Jörg Widmann (b. 1973), Paul Griffiths (b. 1947)…
Bálint András Varga is the acclaimed author of György Kurtág: Three Interviews and Ligeti Homages; Three Questions for 65 Composers; and From Boulanger to Stockhausen: Interviews and a Memoir (all available from University of Rochester Press).
University of Rochester Press
The German version: Der Komponisten Mut und die Tyrannei des Geschmacks
Wolke Verlag, 978-3-95593-071-4


New book article

Bálint Ándras Varga (Hg.)
Der Komponisten Mut und die Tyrannei des Geschmacks
Gedanken, Statements und Dialoge von und mit den Komponisten Hans Abrahamsen, John Adams, Vykintas Baltakas, George Benjamin, Friedrich Cerha, Unsuk Chin, George Crumb, Chaya Czernowin, Paul-Heinz Dittrich, Pascal Dusapin, Lorenzo Ferrero, Uli Fussenegger, Michael Gielen, Detlev Glanert, Sofia Gubaidulina, Georg Friedrich Haas, Giya Kantscheli, György Kurtág, Helmut Lachenmann, Libby Larsen, Liza Lim, Luca Lombardi, Siegfried Matthus, Robert Morris, Olga Neuwirth, Enno Poppe, Karl Aage Rasmussen, Wolfgang Rihm, Rebecca Saunders, Allen Shawn, Johannes Maria Staud, Manfred Trojahn, Jörg Widmann und Christian Wolff, den Kritikern Paul Griffiths, Gerhard R. Koch, Rainer Nonnenmann, Wolfgang Schreiber und Arnold Whittall und den Festivaldirektoren Heike Hoffmann und Sir Nicholas Kenyon.
wolke verlag